How to put string data into an array....

How can I make an array of string's ? I am trying to create a resistor color code chart (very, very simple for now)....Once Ive created the program. I want to re-do the program using things like objects and classes, vectors, etc.....EX....

You have:
Black, Brown, Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet, Gray, White, Gold, Silver, No Band

Band 1: 0 through 9
Band 2: 0 through 9
Band 3: multiples of 10 (multiplier) ie......1,..10..100...1,000....10,000....etc...
Band 4: Tolerance Band: Gold = 5% Silver = 10% No Band = 20%

I have used arrays many times before, but I havent used array's for colors or objects, just interger's....Ive heard that using vector's is an easier method, but I have never used vectors before. I also have to take into account that once I have passed 999 ohms that Ill have to start using engineering notation in order to properly classify the ohms value...ex =
Brown = 1, Black = 0, Red = 100 (which makes 1000 or 1K ohm value).....

I want the user to enter the colors, then the program to output the resistor's ohm value....
Last edited on

Array of strings example:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
	std::string Bands[13] = { "Black", "Brown", "Red", "Orange", "Yellow", "Green", "Blue", 
		"Violet", "Gray", "White", "Gold", "Silver", "" };
	std::cout << Bands[1];	// show Brown
	return 0;
}
cout << Bands[1] is starting at the index spot of the bands array correct ? So as an example, if I wanted to navigate through the Bands array. I could write it as:

cout << Bands[2] = Red
cout << Bands[3] = Orange

and so forth.....

I wonder if i can assign a numerical value to the colors without creating 4 more array's....I could create 4 different arrays. That's not a problem.....Just seeing what I can do..I appreciate the help, and Ill stop by sometime with what I got.....

http://s15.postimg.org/fh9af4jbf/IMG_20150504_053227.jpg

image of Resistor Color Code Chart ^
Last edited on
Hi,