Setting up code::blocks to use a library

I am a self taught occasional hobby programmer who wants to get up to speed with C++ and libraries like SDL using CodeBlocks. I do have C code experience having used it on the old MSDOS machines.

The last week I have been trying to set up the CodeBlocks IDE to allow me to write programs using the SDL library and have tried to follow the steps given by various internet sources (without understanding) but I still get compiler "can't find a file" errors but without enough understanding to actually figure out what to do about it.

The question is:
Is there any detailed tutorial on how all this "setting up" works?

closed account (NUj6URfi)
Try the ones here. http://lazyfoo.net/tutorials/SDL/index.php Tutorials for OSes and IDEs + how to use it all! :D Have fun!
Thanks for the fast responses.
The lazyfoo tutorial was one of the tutorials that I tried to follow. The main SDL worked eventually but not the image and ttf extras. And then I added iostream and it failed to be found something that never occurred with my MSDOS C programming efforts. It is only found when I use the console template. The thing is I need to understand how it works not simply follow a set of "setting up" steps without understanding so I can figure out exactly what I am doing wrong.
I just found the learncpp.com before posting this and will see if it helps.
Thanks again.
I used to follow a YouTube tutorial series created by MakingGamesWithBen.
He is currently the Head of a Indie Dev team working on a new voxel game (a.k.a Minecraft Graphics) called Seed of Andromeda.

He actually does a video on EXACTLY what you need. Getting SDL to work in Code::Blocks. Here is the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmjcZv-Itlg

He also does a later tutorial on getting SDL_TTF installed as well (even though he does this video with VS, the general method is the same):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZPZ7pgPT4E