Class Questions

Pages: 1234
I'm still learning so it's a fact that there's a lot I don't know, but if member access functions break encapsulation, and the only way to access private members of a class is to use them, then how can we possibly maintain encapsulation?
Use them inside class itself and provide a way to manipuate class state via class member functions.
I'm getting mixed messages. MiiNiPaa, are you saying that getter/setter methods do not break encapsulation?
Last edited on
There is a difference between getter/setter functions and normal member functions that happen to modify member functions. Sometimes it's just a different name but the idea is that you tell classes what to do from the outside, not how to do it. You define their functions as tasks they can do, rather than using them to manipulate the internals of the class manually.
I'm not sure what you mean in your last two sentences, but I do know the difference between member access functions (Getters/Setters) and other member functions that manipulate the class data.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class Foo
{
    private:
        int num;

public:
        // Getter           //
        int getNum()        //
        {                   //
            return num;     //
        }                   //
                            // Access Functions
        // Setter           //
        void setNum(int n)  //
        {                   //
            num = n;        //
        }                   //////

// Manipulates data
        void incrementNum() //
        {                   // Ordinary Public Member Function
            ++num;          //
        }                   //////
};

int main()
{
    Foo a;

a.setNum(1);
    cout << a.getNum();

a.incrementNum();

return 0;
}

Edit:
I suppose the question is, do Getter/Setter functions like this break encapsulation?
Last edited on
do Getter/Setter functions like this break encapsulation?