Using functions

I need to write a program that processes payroll for employees given. The program must read employee name, salary, taxes (which must be calculated based on income: 0% for salaries under $1000, 10% for salaries $1000-$2000, and 15% for salaries above $2000), gross pay (or salary after taxes) and output that to an output file and display it in a summary table. I also am required to use the functions I have written out in the prototypes.

Here is the input file information we were given:
5000.67 George Washington
3000.99 John Adams
1000.00 Thomas Jefferson
500.89 Abraham Lincoln
1500.00 Jimmy Carter
1750.45 Ronald Regan
2300.34 Barack Obama
750.23 George W. Bush
2923.09 Richard Nixon
1567.11 John Kennedy

Here's what I have gotten so far, but I am new to C++ and really do not understand functions. Am I even going in the right direction? What do I do from here? Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you!

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;

//function prototypes
double calculate_taxes(double salary);
double output_salary(std:: ofstream& out_stream, char name, double salary, double taxes, int count);
void output_summary(std:: ofstream& out_stream, double total_salaries, double total_taxes);

int main()
{
//variable declaration
int count;
double salary;
double taxes;
double gross_pay;
double total_salaries;
double total_taxes;
double total_gross_pay;
char junk;
string name;
ifstream in_stream;
ofstream out_stream;

//take input from the file Payroll_Info
ifstream in_stream;
in_stream.open("Payroll_Info.txt");
//error message if the input file cannot be accessed
if(in_stream.fail())
{
exit(1);
}
//continue reading input file until the end of the file, record the information
while(! in_steam.eof())
{
in_stream >> salary;
in_stream >> junk;
getline(in_stream, name);
count++;
output_salary(name, salary, taxes, count);
}
//close the files
in_stream.close();
out_stream.close();

return 0;
}