Chess program - Moves of the King

Hello everyone. I am a new member here, and I truly need your help.
I am a beginner in programming, and I got stuck in this program - which are the moves of the King in a chess game, after entering the position of the King. It should be written in C++, using complex FOR-loop statement.

This is my code, that unfortunately, is not working properly...

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
char letter,i;
int number, j;

cout<<"Enter the position of the King: ";
cin>>letter>>number;
while(number<1||number>8||letter<'A'||letter>'H')
{
cout<<"You entered incorrect position. Enter the correct position of the King: ";
cin>>letter>>number;
}
cout<<"You entered "<<letter<<number<<". According to that, the King can move to the following positions: ";
for ((i=int(letter)-1),(j=number-1);(i>=65)&&(i<=72)&&(j<=number+1);i++,j++)

{
if(j<1||j>8||i<'A'||j>'H')
cout<<"/";
else
{
if (!((i==int(letter))&&j==number))
cout<<(char)i<<j<<" ";
}
}

system ("pause");
return 0;
}

If I enter G4, it should print that the King can move to F3,F4,F5,G3,G5,H3,H4,H5. But it only prints that the King can move to F3 and H5. Where is my mistake? Help me, please. I am feeling desperate :(

You are my last hope.Thank you in advance.
Hi pang,
In my opinion your biggest mistake is that you are making the problem overly complex. It makes it more difficult to follow the program and gives you the feeling of desperation =) Try simplifying the problem by splitting it up into separate problems, and organize your code better.

First of all I would outsource the different problems to functions i.e:

void KingMoves(char column, int row){
   int col = column-64;
   int nCol,nRow;

for(int x=-1;x<2;x++){ //its worth splitting up for loops to simplify
       for(int y=-1;y<2;y++){
            nCol=col+x;
            nRow=row+y;

if(CheckMove(nCol,nRow)==1)cout << static_cast<char>(nCol+65) <<nRow;
      }
   }
}