How would you utilize Enumeration?

I'm new to C++. I've read my first programming book. I've decided to revisit enumeration chapter. And honestly, I don't see why enumeration is useful at all.

Everything you can do with enumeration can also be done with int, double, bool, string, etc without any added difficulty.

I've created the code below to understand how enumeration works, and I gotta say, I am not impressed.

The only advantage I see is possible readability of the code, but other than that, I think enumeration is pretty useless. Of course, I could be wrong.

Do you know of any brilliant ways to utilize enumeration?

#include <iostream>

enum colors { BROWN, BLUE, RED, GREEN, YELLOW };
enum coins { PENNY, NICKETL, DIME, HALFDOLLAR, DOLLAR };

colors returnColorForCoin ( coins coin );

int main() {
    colors color;

color = BROWN;

std::cout << color << std::endl; // Notice that it only prints the value stored for BROWN, not the string

if ( color == BROWN )            // You can indirectly prints the actual string of ENUM this way
        std::cout << "BROWN" << std::endl;

// color ++;       // This is illegal. ENUM variables can't be incremented this way.

color = static_cast < colors > ( color + 1 );   // This is how you increment ENUM variable
    std::cout << color << std::endl;

// Indirectly print the value of ENUM color. The value of ENUM can't be printed directly
    if ( color == BLUE )
        std::cout << "BLUE" << std::endl;

// This is true. ENUM values can be used in relational operations
    if ( BROWN < BLUE )
        std::cout << "BROWN < BLUE is true" << std::endl;

// This is how you utilize ENUM in a loop. Supposedly, this increases the readability
    for ( color = BROWN ; color <= YELLOW ; color = static_cast < colors > ( color + 1) )
        std::cout << color << ' ';

// ENUM can be used as a parameter to a function and a function can return ENUM type variable
    std::cout << std::endl << returnColorForCoin ( PENNY ) << std::endl;