Variables to byte arrays

Hi, need some help with converting variables into byte arrays for serial transmission on Arduino in each direction. I need to convert int, long, long long and float to byte arrays for transmission then back to those variables when received.

I am new to C/C++ but not programming in general and when I started searching I found a lot of conflicting approaches, arguments along with concerns about Endienness. I realize the importance of that, but as everything stays within the Arduino family, would Endienness be an issue?

This got me to thinking that I can't be the first ever to need these functions, so thought I would ask here about a libraries (free - I am retired) that might be available to cover this issue.

In other languages I program, I would just copy the actual byte values using Pointers to the variables, but cannot find any good examples like that in C/C++ - yet.

But a library set of all these functions in one place would sure be handy.

Thanks
What exactly do you mean by byte arrays?

Normally this processor "prints" C-strings via the serial port. To convert numeric value to a C-string you should be able to use the sprintf() function. To convert a C-string back to a number you should be able to use sscanf().

http://www.ladyada.net/learn/arduino/lesson4.html
Last edited on
What is a byte array?? like an array of int or short?
>> What is a byte array?

It is an array of bytes. Or, as far as I can tell in Arduino an

byte anArr[32] = {0};
is equal to
unsigned char anArr[32] = {0};

But now moot, I have figured it out another way. Seems like the Arduino is a little too far from the true C++ to be useful to me here.

@jlb:
Seriously sprintf() and sscanf() ?
Did you read what I was trying to do? Passing data arrays between devices via serial.
Seriously sprintf() and sscanf() ?
Did you read what I was trying to do? Passing data arrays between devices via serial.