Key Letter and return as char

I am very new to this and working on a project that requires me to use char getKeyLetter as an input method, but the instructions also state that it won't be possible to get a solution by the method being in char. My task is to make this method gather an single letter from the user and then return it back to the main() as a char.

The char will be used in a statement also gathered by the user. Then use this key letter to remove, replace, and count the letter in the statement. I pretty much have the rest of the code, but getting the KeyLetter has me stumped. Could anyone suggest if i'm supposed to use a string or int or what? I realize I have to convert whatever I use to char before returning by a functional return.

Here is my partially written code for this method. I have no idea how to accomplish this. I know I haven't done my else statements yet, I'm just trying to get the output right first.

// gets inputs
string getKeyLetter()
{  
   string getKeyLetter;
   cout << "Please enter a SINGLE letter to act as key:" << endl;
   if (getKeyLetter.length() != 1);
   {
      cin.get();
   }
   string getKeyLetter = "Please enter a SINGLE letter to act as key:";
   char *keyLetter = new char[getKeyLetter.length() != 1];
   strcpy(keyLetter, getKeyLetter.c_str());
   delete[] keyLetter;

return keyLetter;
}
Last edited on
I don't understand what you're trying to accomplish with your code? Can you tell us what you think each line is supposed to do and maybe we can help you fix it.
If you want just one letter, you're heavily complicating it,

string getKeyLetter()
{
    string letter = "PLACEHOLDER"; //Initialise variable
    while(letter.length() != 1){
        cout << "Please enter one letter to act as key: ";
        cin >> letter;
    }
    return letter;
}