Compilong C++ in VC++ 2008 express issues

Hi im new to programming, teaching myself, im currently using the V C++ 2008 express edition to learn on, and have found that im getting errors, ive searched the net for my error and still cant get my basic program going, believe im not declaring my variables correctly in the new 2008

My Code

#include <stdafx.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
double ctemp, ftemp;

cout << "Input celsius temp and press enter: ";
cin >> ctemp;
ftemp = (ctemp * 1.8) + 32;
cout <<"Fahrenheit temp is: " << ftemp;

return 0;

{

My Error:
error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int

very specific, tried typedef and other examples on the net but still cant get it going, any help would be great

thanks
Okay,am new either.But let look on this line.
ftemp=(ctemp*1.8)+32;
try to avoid this line and not declare ftemp double,just use cast:
cout<<"ferenheit temp"<<(double)(ctemp*1.8)+32;
.Am typing from mobile that's why my code look like normal text but if u are typing from pc,u should select your code and press this button."<>".
What is the advantage of the cast? He simply loses more precision.
Except for the fact that you're ending main with an opening brace ({), that program compiles fine for me.
yeah it compiles with me too.. haha {
// Print1.cpp : main project file.

#include <stdafx.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
double ctemp, ftemp;

cin >> ctemp;

return 0;

}

closed the brace and still get :

1>.\print4.cpp(8) : error C4430: missing type specifier - int assumed. Note: C++ does not support default-int

are you guys using visual c++ 2008 express edition?
Last edited on
yes. i have VC++ express. seems to like the error is on another cpp file on the project.. try making another console project and copy paste this code..