Help with while loops

I'm creating a simple program to output characters in a certain way using while loops. Im very new to programing so this is supposed to teach me how to use loops. Ive got the first set of loops working but i don't know how to make the secondd part of the output work. Whenever i make another set of loops it just goes below my other set of parentheses. Any help would be appreciated thank you! Ive got this

(
((
(((
((((
(((((
((((((
(((((((
((((((((
(((((((((
((((((((((

However I need:
()
(())
((()))
(((())))
((((()))))
(((((())))))
((((((()))))))
(((((((())))))))
((((((((()))))))))
(((((((((())))))))))

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() {
        int i = 0;
        while(i <= 10 ) {    // controls columns
            int n = 0;
            while(n < i) {    //controls rows
                cout << "(";
                n++;
            }
        cout << '\n';
        i++;
        }

}
Last edited on
I think this needs to be done as two separate while loops within a larger loop, rather than nested while-loops.

Reason is that the inner loop always executes in full, before resuming where the outer-loop left off. The kind of structure you want is difficult (probably impossible) to do with nested loops.

By the way, in your code, you are never even printing a closing parenthesis.

See if you can understand why the code below works:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main() 
{
    int n = 1;
    do
    {
        int i = 0, j = 0; // i and j always reset to 0 after each iteration of do-while
        while(i<n)  // keep printing '(' until i is equal to n
        {
            cout << "(";
            i++;
        }
        while(j<n) // keep printing ')' until j is equal to n
        {
            cout << ")";
            j++;
        }
        cout << "\n";  // move to newline for next iteration
        n++;          // increment n so the next iteration will print more parenthesis