string output with struct dynamic array

Beginner here, obviously.

Could anyone help me understand what I would need to do to fix my code. When it gets to input contributor name, it skips to the ptr[1].names and never allows me to put the first name. If I cin.get();, it will just output garbage in the donation loop.

Not looking to have you give me the answer, just help me to understand what I should be looking to do to fix it.

I most likely made some very elementary mistakes, so your patience with me is definitely appreciated.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

struct donors
{
	char names[127];
	double money;
};

int main()
{
	// Set struct array value through user input
	cout << "Enter the number of contributors: ";
	int donor{};
	cin >> donor;

//create pointer to dynamic struct array
	donors* ptr = new donors[donor];

//clear screen after initial input
	system("CLS");

//Enter contributors name
	{
	for (int i = 0; i < donor; i++)
		{
			cout << i + 1<< ") Enter contributors name: ";
			cin.getline(ptr[i].names, 127);
		}
	//Enter donor contribution ammount
	for (int j = 0; j < donor; j++)
		{
			cout << j + 1 << ") Enter contribution ammount: ";
			cin >> ptr[j].money;
		}
	cout << endl;
	//Loop through each struct and print to screen
	for (int y = 0; y < donor; y++)
		{
			cout << "Name " << y+1 << "  :  "<< ptr[y].names;
			cout << "\tDonation " << " :  " << ptr[y].money << endl;
			cout << endl;
		}
	}
	//delete pointer array
	delete [] ptr;

//delete dangling pointer
	ptr = 0;
}

closed account (48T7M4Gy)
When you use getline() you need to clear the cin stream buffer by using cin.ignore() before cin.getline(). cin.fail() is also used before a getline to clear any stream errors. Checkout the tutorials here for more detail.