Hello

Hi, I am new in Programming and I wrote this simple C program, This program get executed but I was wondering why I cannot get 70 in output. Thank you in advance.

#include<stdio.h>
void fun(int);
void replace(int);
int main()
{
int a = 30;
fun(a);
printf("%d\n", a);
return 0;

}
void fun(int b)
{

b = 60;

printf("%d\n",b);
return b;

}
void replace(int c )
{

c= 70;
printf("%d\n",c);

}
first of all you are returning a int in your function "void fun(int b)" which returns nothing (void), if you want it to return int replace void with int.

and be more precise, why do you expect the output to be 70?

Thanks leryss, I just wanted to see how a function works, I got 30 and 60 but not 70 so I was wondering why? I did the following replacement but still did not get 70. I tried by replacing all void by int and still it doesn't work.

#include<stdio.h>
void fun(int);
int replace(int);
int main()
{
int a = 30;
fun(a);
printf("%d\n", a);
return 0;

}
void fun(int b)
{

b = 60;

printf("%d\n", b,b);
return b;

}
int replace(int c )
{

c= 70;
printf("%d\n",c);

}
Last edited on
in your int main() you called fun() function instead of replace(which returns no value), I was talking about the fun() function that should return int. first you have to call the function if you want to use it, like you called fun() in int main

functions don't call themselves that would be a disaster since libraries could contain thousands of them
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
#include<stdio.h>

int fun(int); // <--
int replace(int);

int main()
{
   int a = 30;
   fun(a);
   printf("%d\n", a);

replace(1234); // <--

return 0;
}

int fun(int b) // <--
{
    b = 60;
    printf("%d\n", b);
    return b; // <--
}

int replace(int c )
{ 
    c = 70;
    printf("%d\n",c);
}