Write a method to count the number of items in a linked list

If I wanted to make a method to count the amount of items in a linked list, how would I go about doing that?
I want to make both an iterative solution and a recursive solution if possible...Thanks guys I really appreciate the help!
Initialize a pointer to the first node and p=p->next while p is a valid pointer. This should only be done iteratively. Actually, the proper way to do this would be to keep a size variable in the list structure.
Yes, only use recursion on unbounded structures if you can do it with proper tail recursion -- which is pretty much the same as doing it iteratively.
Thanks guys that makes sense, but how would I write a method that I could add to a project that I am working on that could accomplish this? Sorry, I'm just learning how to use NODEs and it would really help me understand them to know how to count them... Im pretty sure it would have something to do with the item->Next function that would visit each NODE but I dont know how exactly it would count the number of items....
anybody? I've looked everywhere on the net that I can think of and still cant figure out how to write this...
Exactly as helios said, just increment a counter variable as you are visiting each node.
Is this C or C++? Why don't you at least study the std::list class interface to see what the standard container can do. The examples on this site could give you a general idea of how to implement some of these concepts. By the way, why doesn't the list simply maintain a counter as nodes are inserted just as Helios suggested? The only good reason that I can think of for iteratively counting is for something like the count_if algorithm which counts only if some predicate returns true (count all nodes with a value within some range for instance).