having problem with while loop

i am new in C++,My program is asking user to enter integer, and i want to show the error message when user enter anythings expect integer.But i have a problem,whenever i enter the world first, it just terminate the program.
for example, i enter "sad", it shows "integer only" and then end of program.However, if i enter integer in first try, it works fine, even though i enter world in second and so on, it works perfectly.In addition, can anyone explains the cin.clear and cin.ignore. i just copy them online.
  #include <iostream>
#include <limits>
using namespace std;

int main() {
	int a;
	while(true){
		cout << "Enter a integer greater than 666: ";
	cin >> a;

if(!cin) {
		cout << "integer only\n";
	cin.clear();
	cin.ignore(numeric_limits<int>::max(), '\n');
	}
	if (a < 666) return 0;
	if ((a % 10 + a % 100 / 10) == 13) cout << "Evil\n";
	} 
	return 0;
}
It looks like the program exits due to this line:

if (a < 666) return 0;

Try printing the value of variable a before and after the if(a < 666) check (line 16). You'll find that it holds a junk value. This happens because a was not initialized and the attempt to assign a value on line 9 fails when the user enters a word.

When you enter an valid integer first, a gets an valid value. Your loop continues as long as a remains valid. Later attempts to change the value to "sad" fail, so it keeps the original value you assigned it.

From what I've learned so far, a common way to validate input is to include the cin operation within a conditional statement. For example:

#include <iostream>
#include <limits>
using namespace std;

int main() {
	int a;

cout << "enter an integer: ";
	while (!(cin >> a))  // (cin >> a) == true if assignment successful
	{
		cout << "invalid input, please enter an integer: ";
		cin.clear();
		cin.ignore(numeric_limits<int>::max(), '\n');
	}

cout << "thank you. your integer is " << a << '\n';

return 0;
}