Console Closing Down

Pages: 123... 7
Hi, i am new to C++ and have just written my "Hello World" program. It worked all right but the console/cmd closes down instantly. If you tell me why it is closing down it would be very helpful.
It is because your IDE is too stupid to know that a console application run from the IDE should have an automatic pause at the end.

Add the following to the end of your main() function to fix it:

std::cout << "Press ENTER to continue...";
  std::cin.ignore( std::numeric_limits<std::streamsize>::max(), '\n' );

return 0;
  }

You'll need to #include <limits>

Enjoy.
Zolaboony,

You can also use:

system ("PAUSE");

Make sure to input above in the last line of "main" just before the ending brace. This will require you to "Press any key...." to close the window.

Personally(I am new to programming too), I use the following it lets me run the program again and again to test different values.

int main () {

while (true) { //This repeats the program. You close console window manually by clicking "x".

system ("CLS"); //this will clear the screen of any text from prior run
cin.clear(); //this will clear any values remain in cin from prior run

body of your program goes here

system ("PAUSE");
} // this ends while loop
return 0;
} // this ends your main function.

I hope this helps.

Last edited on
Grumble.

Don't use system("anything"). It is slow. It is disliked by antivirus software. It is OS-dependent. It tags you as an absolute beginner. And it is a massively huge, gaping, ugly security hole.

If all you are doing is some silly homework assignment or playing with your own code, it is fine. But for everything else: please, please don't.
I`ll tell the most short explain:
just before closing- return 0; type
system("pause");
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
but remember that if you go to competition you must always delete it
Did you even read the rest of this thread?
Duoas,