C++ working with .txt file

Hello everyone, I'm having problems working with .txt files in C++..
In the C++ main function the name of an input .txt file shall be inputted, the name of an output file .txt as well as the desired width of the output block column format.
I'm able to input the file and print it out, but i can't set the width.. I imagine i should give the option to input the width from the start and then save the characters in the string according on the given width.. but since I'm quite new to c++ I don't actually know how to do it.. Hope someone can help me..
Thank you!
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include<iomanip>

using namespace std;

int main(void)

{   char c;
    ifstream myfile;
	string fileLocation;
    cout << "Please enter the location of the file: ";
	getline(cin, fileLocation);
	myfile.open(fileLocation.c_str());

if (!myfile.is_open())
{
    cerr<<"error opening file"<< fileLocation<< endl;
}
else {
    cout<< "input file " << fileLocation<< "opened.." << endl;

while(!myfile.eof())
    {
        c = myfile.get();
        cout.put(c);

}
    myfile.close();
    cout<<"\n input file closed" << endl;

}
return 0;
}
By width do you mean the distance (in spaces) from one element to another? If that's the problem, you can use iomanip to format the spaces as you wish.
I mean the number of letters and spaces together.. For example the sentence "Today it is sunny" has width 17. I've tried the setw function, but it doesn't actually do what i want..
I used it like this:
cout << setw(40) <<  end l;
cout.put(c);

Use the string size from that, then subtract it from the total number of spaces you want to have. Of course, the string's length shouldn't be greater than the desired number.

std::cout<<std::setw(40-line.length)<<'\n'
The problem is that i don't know how many there are going to be from the start..