Unlimited size palindrome

I need some help with a homework assignment. I'm really new to C++ and I'm not sure what search terms to even enter to learn how to do what is being asked of me. If someone could provide some link and/or terms to search I would really appreciate. I'm not looking for something to copy/paste. I just don't have a clue what to do.

The first task was to create a program that determines if the integers entered by a user are a 5 digit palindrome (See code below). It has a quit message if -1 is entered, a "The number" << number1 << "is a palindrome" message, a "The number" << number1 << "is not a palindrome", and a "The number" << number1 << "is not a five digit number" message.

The second task (and this is where I'm lost) is make another palindrome program that has inputs of letters instead of numbers. Also, the input string should of any size. The program needs to be able to ignore spaces; i.e. if “a car a man a maraca” is entered, then cout should be "The statement "acaramanamaraca" is a palindrome!" If there are spaces, the program needs to recognize that the input is a statement instead of a word. Finally, if the input is -1, then a "Goodbye!" message needs to appear. I was given a hint to use getline for inputs that have spaces but we haven't covered that in class. Typing out all of the requirements makes me feel even more overwhelmed.

Please provide links/keywords so that I can learn how to accomplish this because I have no idea where to begin. Thanks

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int number1, n1, n2, n3, n4, n5;
	cout << "Enter a five-digit integer (or -1 to quit): ";
	cin >> number1;

n1 = number1 / 10000;				//Since this type int the reminder will be discharded leaving only the most significant bit
	n2 = (number1 % 10000) / 1000;
	n3 = (number1 % 1000) / 100;		//This line is unnecessary but I'm using to keep track of things
	n4 = (number1 % 100) / 10;
	n5 = (number1 % 10) / 1;