Help with inheritance, derived classes and their functions

Hi guys,

I’ve got what is probably a very basic question about inheritance, but I’m relatively new to this so please bear with me.

So, say I have a class called MoveableObject for all the movable objects in my game. I then derive PlayerObject and EnemyObject from MoveableObject.

MoveableObject has Update(float dTime) as a member function, with basic code common to most moveable objects. Pseudocode for example…

If (MovingUp) { vPosition.y -= speed * dTime };
If (MovingDown) { vPosition.y += speed * dTime };
If (MovingLeft) { vPosition.x -= speed * dTime };
If (MovingRight) { vPosition.x += speed * dTime };

Now, let’s say PlayerObject can only move on the X axis. PlayerObject inherits Update() from MoveableObject and this should work because MoveableObject’s Update() function accounts for PlayerObject’s type of movement.

But, let’s say EnemyObject’s movement is calculated by a flocking algorithm, and so its Update() function should look something like this…

vPosition += vVelocity * dTime;

How does this work? Can the inherited Update() function be overloaded in EnemyObject’s .cpp file, or would I have to either create EnemyObject as a separate base class instead of deriving it from MoveableObject, or alternatively write a second update function unique to it – e.g. EnemyUpdate() – and call that instead?

Thanks.
Can the inherited Update() function be overloaded in EnemyObject’s .cpp file

You could make Update() a virtual function within MoveableObject and give it class appropriate implementation in each of the derived classes
Thanks for the reply gunnerfunner.

You could make Update() a virtual function within MoveableObject and give it class appropriate implementation in each of the derived classes