creating a test with multiple choices?

first off, im a complete noob, i only have about 10 hours of actual programming so bear with me.

im trying to write a test that has multiple choice answers.
i know this can be done with the switch statement, but i want to do it without using that.

ive spent dang near 5 hours trying to get it, but i just cant, is it even possible? here is my code.

#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	cout << "\t\t SIMPLE TEST\n";
	cout << "what is 2 + 2? \n";
	cout << " A) 2";
	cout << "\n B) 6";	// making the question
	cout << "\n C) 4";
	cout << "\n D) 0";

cout << "\n";

char a,
		 b,
		 c,			// the possible answers
		 d;

if (cin >> c)
	{
		cout << "that is correct!\n";  // this is where im confused.. 
	}
	else
	{
		cout << "wrong\n";
	}
	system("PAUSE");
	return 0;
}
p.s. , all the program does is output "that is correct!" even when i input an integer...
i know this can be done with the switch statement, but i want to do it without using that

a switch is better when you have several options but in this case you could use the conditional/ternary operator: https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cplusplus/cpp_conditional_operator.htm
#include<iostream>

//using namespace std;
//http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1452721/why-is-using-namespace-std-considered-bad-practice

int main()
{
	std:: cout << "\t\t SIMPLE TEST\n";
	std:: cout << "what is 2 + 2? \n";
	std::cout << " A) 2" << "\n B) 6" << "\n C) 4"<< "\n D) 0 \n";

std::cout << "choose your answer: \n";
	char answer{};
	std::cin >> answer;//see below link for some input validation ideas and modify for char:
	//
	//http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/206234/
    //http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/211726/

std::cout << ( (answer == 'A') || (answer == 'a') ? "Correct \n" : "Incorrect \n" );
}
closed account (48T7M4Gy)
In a very basic form this is what you need to do.