reverse engineering?

Hello,

what tool do you guys use for reverse engineering? I have not yet been able to find a tool that properly reverse engineer C++ code to UML. The best I found was StarUML but it still has many problems and is unusable with most projects.

What are your thoughts on this matter?

Thank you!
First let me say that I'm not an expert on this topic.

In case you didn't know already, I just wanted to say that Visual Studio 2008 and above has 'limited functionality' for generating class diagrams from native C++ code:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb385735.aspx

However, I don't think it's included in the free express editions...
"Reverse engineering" is a black art. There is no tool to "decompile" code to its sources.

There do exist tools that will get you close, but that's the best you can get.

It should be noted that RE is not something that most people mess with -- those who spend a lot of time with it are typically doing something illegal (or classified).
i also want to know the behind the scenes of this reverse engineering.. though c++ to UML i think is not reverse engineering..
All there is to it is some pattern recognition.

The problem is that the patterns for things can be very complex. Consider the basic iostream classes. How do you "decompile" that? And when you do, you have no way of knowing what is public, private, etc. What names do you give things?

Even before you compile code, you can write clean, easy to read stuff, or you can write things that will completely lose you. RE takes clean stuff and undoes it to something barely legible. There simply aren't enough clues in the machine code to tell you more.

Some systems are old enough or simple enough that compiler vendors would also sell stuff that "decompiles" their own code. (This is sometimes a useful tool.) Such things got you a great deal more information simply because the decompilation can be "rigged": there is more information available than usual.