Average of numbers input by user

Hi,

I am new here. I am pretty new to C++ and I want to solve a problem with the following statement: "read numbers inserted by keyboard until user press 0. Show the average of all the numbers inserted". I should use while loop to solve it. Well, I tried to solve it and here is my code:

#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "Basics using While and Do While 5 While" << endl;

int num;
    int sum=0;
    int n=0;

while (num!=0) {
        printf("Insert a number: ");
        scanf("%d", &num);
        sum=sum+num;
        n++;
        }
    float avg=(sum/n);
    printf("The average of the numbers inserted is %f \n",avg);
    printf("End of the program");
    return 0;
}

I tried to print the sum, everything is ok but for any reason, I can't get the average, instead, the program gives me 1 or 2. Too much frustration at this moment. Could you please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Just to clarify, I don't use cout because I have been taught to use libraries instead using printf. I am using an open source software: CodeBlocks.

Thank you very much in advance.
Last edited on
can you further explain this?
try this:
#include<iostream.h>
#include<stdio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>
void main()
{
int num,sum=0,n=0;
double avg;
for(;;)
{
cout<<"type number: ";
cin>>num;
if(num==0)
{
goto next;
}else{
sum=sum+num;
}
++n;
}
next:
avg=sum/n;
cout<<"\nthe avg is: "<<avg;
getchar();
}
The exercise consists in: The user insert numbers through keyboard until insert "0" to end the program. Then, you must calculate the average of those numbers before 0 was inserted. You must solve it using a while loop and again using do while loop.

The code I am trying without any success is the mentioned above. Further explanations:

1) libraries used:
#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
The last two ones is for printf

2) cout << "Basics using While and Do While 5 While" << endl;