Vector of strings lab help

Hello, I'm pretty lost on how to approach an assignment for my class. I'm a new CS student and I'm having a hard time understanding the set up. This is it:

Create a program which takes continuous input from the user to generate a case-insensitive list of unique words the user has given, until the number of distinct words reaches 20 (you may use a smaller number while debugging). Specifically, keep a single vector of strings lexicon, and implement the following three functions:

1) searchLexicon : takes a string word and string vector lexicon as arguments, and returns a boolean - true if the word exists in the lexicon, and false otherwise. Note that this is case-insensitive (If the word "yo" were in the lexicon already, checking "Yo" would yield true).
2) addWord : also takes a string word and string vector lexicon as arguments, returns nothing (void). Checks first to see if the word is already in the lexicon (using the previous function), and if it is not, adds the word to the lexicon.
3) printLexicon : outputs each word in the lexicon in all lowercase, separating each with a new line and beginning with some indentation (Quick tip: \t is the tab character).

HINT: to continuously ask for input, a while-loop combined with cin such as the following:
std::string word;
while(cin >> word){ ... }

Will keep asking the user for input until either a direct break statement is issued, or the program is closed forcefully.

Example usage (using a limit of 10 because that's less typing):
$> Hello, please give me a bunch of words to add to the lexicon!
$> How about these words, are THESE words good enough? Of course they are! // input from user
$> Lexicon successfully filled! Check it out:
$> 1 - how
$> 2 - about
$> 3 - these
$> 4 - words,
$> 5 - are
$> 6 - good
$> 7 - enough
$> 8 - of
$> 9 - course
$> 10 - they
$>
$> Good bye!