Advice for Creating an Inventory Control Program

Background: I work for a warehouse that interacts with a retail/salvage store. I am a nursing major, but am switching to either CS or CE and will graduate in around 3 years. I have been learning C++ for about 8 months, and have been studying and learning from LearnCPP.com & C++ Primer. I took a short break during those 8 months, and was introduced to HTML and JAVA.

I have an opportunity to create an inventory program for the company I work for that they could actually use, although it wasn't requested of me. I see this as a great opportunity to add something noteworthy to my portfolio, and genuinely would like to create something helpful for the business.

I went through most of LearnCPP.com, and I am having some difficulty starting the program. I have also looked through some open source inventory programs, but I am having a great deal of difficulty applying them to the needs of the program. I am seeking additional resources, advice, and links to topics that would help me create this program. I hope this post in no way comes off as a lack of diligence. I am honestly looking for direction and advice.

Needs of the program:

1) To be able to store information such as distributors/suppliers, locations, expiration dates, cost, retail value, and so on.

2) Interact with a scanner to create/read a barcode that would contain this information. Interact with the printer to print stickers with the barcodes for certain boxes, and be able to "scan out" the item from active inventory, and then be placed into a inventory history database of some type. This part of the program seems particularly difficult with the understanding I have right now.