Please help me with my C++ code! (using fstream)

Hi! I am new to C++ programming and I need to write a code that will read from one file, multiply or square numbers in the file and put the results into a newly created file. It needs to terminate/close after encountering -99 in the file, but not before squaring or multiplying the number.

Here's my jank code D:

[
#include "stdafx.h"
#include<iostream>
#include<fstream> // to use files

using namespace std;

int main()
{
ifstream inputFile; // File stream onject
inputFile.open("Farris.txt");

ofstream outputFile;
outputFile.open("TristenStokes.txt");

outputFile << "TristenStokes.txt\n";

do (inputFile); // if a value was read, execute while condition

if (inputFile > 0)
{
outputFile << (inputFile * inputFile) << endl;
}
else if (inputFile < 0)
{
int doubleNeg(inputFile, 2);
std::ofstream;
outputFile << inputFile * 2 << endl;
}
else if (inputFile == 0)
{
break;
}
while (inputFile > -99);

inputFile.close();
outputFile.close();

return 0;
}
]
Hello tgrump,

Welcome to the forum. I think you tried to use code tags, but did it wrong. Use the following links to read about code tags.

PLEASE ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS (the <> formatting button) when posting code.
It makes it easier to read your code and also easier to respond to your post.
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/jEywvCM9/
http://www.cplusplus.com/articles/z13hAqkS/
Hint: You can edit your post, highlight your code and press the <> formatting button.
You can use the preview button at the bottom to see how it looks.

Your program is a good start and there are a couple parts that are correct, but sorry to say most of the program is wrong.

For working with files you can start here:
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/fstream/fstream/

For the do/while loop:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/control/