Best way to approach beginner projects?

Some of the issues I had was understanding the instructions, which is something that happens often.

Then when I try to find similar solutions, it sucks. As a beginner I don't know what I am looking for and sometimes the answers are beyond the scope of what I need to do at the moment.

It took me 3 hours to get through steps 1-7 of a drill on Chapter 4 Stroustrups book "PPPc++(2014)." It says the book was set up so that a chapter could be completed a day and I spent at least 6 hours to get from the beginning of the chapter to an incomplete drill. So I am very bad at this or I am doing something wrong because I think a chapter a day would probably mean about 3 hours tops.

Anyone have similar issues or can offer advice in this area?
Last edited on
The book you mentioned is not designed for self study. It's a textbook for a university course, so without the lectures it's difficult. Normally I don't recommend it for beginners.
Don't worry too much about the time. More important is that you learn sth. from it.
t009 wrote:
It took me 3 hours to get through steps 1-7 of a drill on Chapter 4 Stroustrups book "PPPc++(2014)." It says the book was set up so that a chapter could be completed a day and I spent at least 6 hours to get from the beginning of the chapter to an incomplete drill. So I am very bad at this or I am doing something wrong because, I think a chapter a day would probably mean about 3 hours tops.

In the preface it says: