Read more .txt files within a configured .txt file

closed account (9h5X216C)
Hi, I'm just learning c++ and really need your help to program as stated by topic.

Basically, I have a text file called 'example.txt', and within this file, there are more .txt filenames (e.g. 'abc.txt', '123.txt').

=========================================
For example: // following are contents within 'example.txt'

//contain grid-areas
abc.txt

//contain results
123.txt
=========================================

How do I go about reading in the contents of 'example.txt' and the program upon reading that there are more filenames, proceed to further access them and read them in?

So far, I know how to read in a file using the following codes. But I'm stuck at how to further read the other .txt files in the main file.

#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main (const int argc, const char **argv)
{
    	std::ifstream file;
    	file.open ("example.txt");

if (!file.is_open ())
    	{
        	std::cerr << "Error opening file: " << filename << std::endl;
        	return 1;
    	}
   	std::string line;
    	while (file.good ())
    	{
		std::getline (file, line);
		std::cout << line << std::endl;
    	}

file.close ();
	return 0;
}

Can anyone help me? Please advise, thank you!!
Last edited on
One way would be to check line after you read it and if it contains a filename.
Depending on what you need to you could read this file like the first one or store the filename in a vector and read after you finished the first file.
Hello justagreenie,

Some FYI that might help.

In line 5 if you are not going to use "argc" and "argv" they do not need to be there. Sometimes compilers may complain about variables being defined and not used.

From line 10 on:
if (!file)
{
	std::cerr << "Error opening file: " << filename << std::endl;
	std::this_thread::sleep_for(std::chrono::seconds(5));  // Requires header files "chrono" and "thread"
	exit(1);
}