bit shifting and bitwise operators

folks,

I have a small problem understanding a function as to what its doing:

I have run this program in C++. I will comment the lines of code as per my understanding. Your insight would be useful

unsigned int myfunc(unsigned int n)
{
unsigned int temp =
(n >> 24) | //logical shift done here as it is unsigned, division
((n << 8) & 0x00FF0000) | // logical shift as well, multiplication
((n >> 8) & 0x0000FF00) |
(n << 24);
return temp;
}

As an example we input an unsigned integer for example 55 the output is 922746880. I am told this is an application that is used in real world scenarios. I am a beginner C++ newbie.

thanks for the input
That code reverses the byte order of n. It is used for transforming values between big-endian and little-endian byte orders. See
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endianness

Network Byte Order (big-endian) is the order the internet and most other peer-to-peer software uses, but Intel PCs use little-endian order. These two are the most common, but there are other systems out there that were designed by brain-damaged folk.

That code, BTW, is not very well written.
Last edited on
but there are systems out there that were designed by brain-damaged folk.

*cough* Fixed Point Numbers *cough*
{
     unsigned int temp =
     (n >> 24) | //logical shift done here as it is unsigned, division
     ((n << 8) & 0x00FF0000) | // logical shift as well, multiplication
     ((n >> 8) & 0x0000FF00) |
     (n << 24);
     return temp;
}

{
     unsigned int temp =
     (n >> 24) | //logical shift done here as it is unsigned, division by 2 ** 24, bitwise or afterwards.
     ((n << 8) & 0x00FF0000) | // logical shift as well and reading the 3th and 4th byte of it, bitwise or
     ((n >> 8) & 0x0000FF00) | //pretty similair to above but reading 5th and 6th byte
     (n << 24); //Shifting 24 bytes to the left.
     return temp;
}

Is this some hash function, rng, or does it something mathematical?
@Zaita