I Have NO IDEA how this Line of Code Works

Hello, I am currently reading an article online about how virtual is implemented in C++ using a vtable. The author of the article provides an explanation by creating an "implementation" of virtual in C, not C++. Given that I have little experience with C at all, some of the syntax here confuses me. Here is the article:

http://blog.httrack.com/blog/2014/05/09/a-basic-glance-at-the-virtual-table/

My main problem lies in the following function:

void CB_print(struct B *this) {
  // we know that this points after the struct A layout
  // so let's fix the pointer by ourselves!
  size_t offset = (size_t) &((struct C*) NULL)->b;
  C_print((struct C*) ( ( (char*) this ) - offset ) );
}

I'm guessing to C programmers this looks like a piece of cake but I have no idea what I am looking at. I have never had to manipulate raw pointers like this in C++ so I need some help. Namely, what exactly does this line do?

Looking at this, I am guessing it does the following. First it takes a NULL (0) value and casts it into a struct C*. In C++, I guess this would be the same as a struct C nullptr? Anyways, it then uses the arrow (->) operator to reach a data member of struct C, which is b.

How is this possible? I thought it is not possible to dereference null pointers? And then it takes the address of all that garbage and then finally converts it to (size_t). I still have no idea what this accomplishes or what value offset will hold at the end of this statement. The following line also has me completely stumped:

Looking back at the definition of C_Print, the function has a single parameter, a struct C*. This line does some crazy casts to char* for some reason and subtracts offset (?) and then converts it to struct C* to pass as the argument for C_Print? What exactly does all of this mean?