What is it that I'm just not getting?

How would I got about appending an integer to the end of a string?

I'm a former java programmer, so I would use stringName = stringName + intName;

What is the C++ equivalent.

Thanks.
Last edited on
I'm not a java programer so I cannot comment on the differences. It does seem that Java does a lot for you. With C and C++ you have to do it yourself. Adding an int on to the end of a string cannot be done without a bit of work because they are different types.
You have to convert the int to a string or char array first before concatenation. Java obviously does all the work for you.

For example, the old 'C' way of doing this would be sprintf(). This will create a char array from you int
int intName = 16;
char chArr[3];

sprintf(chArr,"%d\n", intName);

stringName.append(chArr);

For C++ there is no standard way of doing this that doesn't involve embedding the above code (or something similar) into a class. I expect Boost has something to do it and maybe some other 3rd part libraries.

The core C++ language is 64 key words. There is the Standard Template Library (STL) that nearly every C++ compiler supports. There are 3rd party libraries for extended functionality (like Boost). Java appears to be much more regimented. C and C++'s strength is the flexibility it gives the person writing the code. There are so many ways of doing the same thing, each one has benefits and drawbacks, you can 'tune' the code to fit the application.

This is why nothing has managed to replace them as the best general purpose languages out there.
Ok.
There doesn't seem to be any function called 'sprintf' in c++?
Also, how can I convert a string (object) into a char array, and vice versa?

Last edited on
closed account (z05DSL3A)
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/string/string/