Basic

Hey Folks,

I'm new to c++, what program is the best to write and edit code that isnt to complicated. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Some of the programs wouldn't work on my computer correctly.

Regards,
Knightcastle
Last edited on
I'm pretty new to C++ myself, and I've found Dev-C++ to be very simple to use. I'm also using Visual C++ express, and it has a some very useful features, but seems to be slightly more complicated. Both are available for free download. Just search for them on google. Good luck!
Thanks,

Do you know of any scripts that are already written that I can copy and paste just to fool around with?

Regards,
Last edited on
Yeah, there are a lot in the help section of Visual C++ express. Also, there is a bunch of example code on this site in the tutorial section. (At the top left of your screen, click on Documentation, C++ Language tutorial.)
Last edited on
Thanks,

I Installed Dev-C++ and it's working excellent. I used the "Hello World" Script and it works but it pops up for a second then goes away. Is there a line of code that I can add which will make it last longer on the screen.

Heres the Code I Used:
#include <stdio.h>
int main()
{
    printf("Hello World\n");
    return 15;
}

Also, Would it be hard to make a program just like the Hello World Script which will display the current time and date?

Any help is appreciated.

Regards,
If you want the program to pause so you can see the output, you can to this. At the top of your program, add:

#include <iostream>
That prepares your program for use of the cin, cout, etc.
Then before the return statement, add:

int variable;
cin>>variable;

This will cause your program to pause while it waits for input from the keyboard. When the program runs, just type any number and press enter to end it. That's probably not the only way, and certainly not the most elegant, but it's easy, so I use it. (Like I said, I'm a real beginner myself.)