How do you make a level editor?

closed account (jw6XoG1T)
i want to make a platform game but i need to know how to make a level editor. Any suggestions, books, or websites that could help?
How are you storing the levels? (text, binary, or code)
closed account (jw6XoG1T)
well i havent even started yet lol i just wanted to know how i would make it. ill probably end up coding everything. and this is my first time so i have absolutly no idea how to begin making a game lol
You would be best served by using an engine that has a built in one. To create a good level editor where you control via GUI (think drag and drop the crate on a platform and place player one at one end of the screen) would most likely take a team of programmers (10 - 40) who are mid to high level, spending a solid 6 months of coding and debugging time. And thats assuming you already had an engine ready to go for graphics and physics. By the time most amature programmers had that much together, the technology for which they are making the editor would be very obsolete. -- [edit] I fully agree with the point down below I am only leaving this up to let others who would read the rest of the post know what we are talking about.

I would suggest unity, torque or some similar premade one.

As far as books etc. You can start with 2d game development by j. harbour. You will want to know a bit about c++ before tackling that though.

I would also suggest becoming a member of IGDA, so you can make friends with local game programmers who would like to take on this venture of yours.
Last edited on
easy there danaigo, 10-40 programmers? 6 months? How long it would take depends on how complex the game is, but you've massively overestimated the difficulty. For a simple platformer it won't be too hard, given that the OP has some experience programming games.