Try Catch

Problem with Try Catch

In my program I output a list of names to log.txt with this.

myfile << "\t"<< x << " Function name "<< FunctionName << "\n";

Sometimes an error occurs in the FunctionName and the file output TERMINATES but program execution continues.

A good line would be:
1 Function name CloseHandle

The file output at the critical line is
1 Function name
and file output terminates.

I don't know what the exception is. I dont really care I just want to trap it and move on.

so

Try
{
myfile << "\t"<< x << " Function name "<< FunctionName << "\n";
}
catch (...)
{
myfile << "\t" Unknown Function "\n";
}

Its my first time in C++ using Try Catch block.
I use them frequently in vb.net.
How do I catch any error / exception in the protected code?
I thought that catch (...) would catch any exception thrown by Windows?

Thanks for help!!1
Last edited on
I don't know what the exception is. I dont really care

You should. In your case, what if the exception is related to the output code? Have fun in your catch block, then!
I thought that catch (...) would catch any exception thrown by Windows?

It catches *all* exceptions thrown in the try block.

My guess is that you use something ugly like a C string as FunctionName and that the pointer this string decays to points to a address in a segment you may not access... but that's just a guess. In that case, your program would be signaled with a segfault (or something like that, I'm not very familiar with Windows), which is not an exception and thus cannot be caught using a try...catch construct.
Thanks for your reply.

I am very, very new to C/C++ .

As a general rule, is try{ } catch(...) the recommended syntax for general type error trapping.
Or is there a better way?

I will revisit the earlier problem, but no CString variables are used.