Can I have an array in a class?

Can I have an array in a class? If so, what would this look like? I am not very good with classes so any explinations as to why certain things are done would be great.
I can provide an example if you need.
Yes, arrays are usually put in a class as data members, and so generally all containers can be also used in classes e.g
class aClass
{
      aClass();//constructor
      ~aClass();//destructor

private:
     string aStringMember;
     vector<int> aVectorMember;//etc.
};

I can provide an example if you need.

Perhaps you should...
Last edited on
The simplest example I can think of is in the site's tutorial on classes: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/classes/
it has this as an example:
class CRectangle {
    int x, y;
  public:
    void set_values (int,int);
  } rect;

What would this look like if I wanted to replace int x,y; with int x[2], with the former x as x[0] and the former y as x[1]?
I know that you would replace int x,y; with int x[2]. But what about the set_values, what would it look like?
Also, on line 12 of the site's example is:
void CRectangle::set_values (int a, int b) {
  x = a;
  y = b;

How would it be written if you used int x[2] instead of int x, y;
Last edited on
class CRectangle {
    int x[2];
  public:
    void set_values (int,int);
    int area () {return (x[0]*x[1]);}
};

void CRectangle::set_values (int a, int b) {
  x[0] = a;
  x[1] = b;
}

in this case it's just as simple as this code. Remember an array is simply an indexed variable i.e
    int a, b, c, x[3];
//put values into a,b,c
//later gives those values to x[0],x[1],x[2]
   x[0] = a;
   x[1] = b;
   x[2] = c;
Thanks a ton! That helps a lot.
Another question, is there any reason why the void CRectangle::set_values (int a, int b){ bit couldn't also contain an array? So instead of (int a, int b), have it contain an array instead? Thanks.