Compilation / Linking Problem for very simple program

Hello people,
I am a complete newbie to programming, and I am having some trouble completing a very simple drill in Stroustrups Book Programming Principles and Practice using C++.
I have 3 very simple program parts, my.h , my.cpp, and use.cpp. This is how each of them looks:

my.h
extern int foo;
void print_foo();
void print(int);

my.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include "my.h"

using namespace std;

void print_foo()
{
	cout <<"\n"<<foo<<"\n";
}

void print(int i)
{
	cout <<"\n"<<i<<"\n";
}

and use.cpp
#include "my.h"

int main()
{
	int foo = 7;
	print_foo();
	print(99);
	return 0;
}

Now, when I try to compile using g++ use.cpp, I first get two problems. Firstly, I get a message saying undefined reference to foo in function print_foo(). I'm not really sure how I should be doing this instead. In the book it says I should use main in use.cpp to set the value of foo to 7. Does defining foo within main not set its value for foo everywhere?
Also, I am having problems with undefined reference to print_foo() and print(int). According to the book, my.h should contain exactly what is given above, so is this a problem with the way I am compiling? (am running Ubuntu, using g++ compiler)
Even when I stuff all the code into one file, like this
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

void print_foo();
void print(int);
extern int foo;

void print(int i)
{
	cout << "\n" << i << "\n";
}

int main()
{
	int foo = 10;
	print_foo();
	print(99);
	return 0;
}

void print_foo()
{
	cout << "\n" << foo << "\n";
}

I get the undefined reference to foo error. I am really confused here, and would greatly appreceate any help in showing / explaining to me what I am doing wrong here.
Thank you in advance!!!
Last edited on
I should use main in use.cpp to set the value of foo to 7. Does defining foo within main not set its value for foo everywhere?