Easy C++ Compiler

Hi all,

I am new to programming in C++ and I am currently using Visual C++ express but I find it difficult and complicated.

What compiler would you recommend that it is easy to use?

Thanks,

Richard.
i like Code::Blocks. I usually use that as my main IDE. I've played around with netbeans too, both free
I've been using Dev-C++ for a bit now. It's still complicated (to me), but not as bad as Visual C++. I just installed Visual C++, and there was some strange "Hello World" statement already written in, not even in the cout << "Hello World" << endl; style you'd expect.

I started the "default" program; it said "Hello World" then closed down right away. There was no system("PAUSE"), which is what I've gathered a good thing. There was a return() which I expected would do the job of not closing the program down immediately, but I guess that doesn't do it.

I then tried adding my own line of text (using cout << "Hello" << endl;), but it gaves me like 30 lines of errors. I don't know what's up with different code from one compiler to another.

I'm going to download Code::Blocks now and see if that works. If not, I'll just have to stick with Dev-C++, even though it hasn't been updated in years (from what I heard) and still has system("PAUSE") as default code. It doesn't even have the #include(iostream) stuff at the beginning of new source files. It has caused much confusion for me.

I don't know why it's so hard to find a decent free compiler :(
Last edited on
If you have been using Dev-C++, why not try wxDev-C++ available at http://wxdsgn.sourceforge.net/ ? I will, however, recommend Code::Blocks as well. It's by far the best.
What makes wxDev-C++ different than the regular Dev-C++? Is it somewhat easier?