Why is 'using namespace std' used

Hi,

I'm just starting to learn C++.
What I've learnt till date is we use <iostream> which contains everything needed for input/output.
Then also we need to type 'using namespace std' otherwise the code throws an error.

So my question is what is the necessity of using this namespace if everything is there in <iostream> for cout, cin etc..

I searched the net but everywhere the only thing i could find is the definition of 'namespace' and that 'namespace std' is a 'standard namespace'.

I would be glad if any of u Gurus kindly clarify my doubt. Many thanks in advance!

Regards,
Jaya
closed account (Gz64jE8b)
Without using namespace std; when you write for example cout <<; you'd have to put std::cout <<;

Here's a small example for you:

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    std::cout << "Hello World";
    system("pause");
    return 0;

}

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    cout << "Hello World";
    system("pause");
    return 0;

}

They both do the exact same thing.
Let's start with a problem to explain what namespaces are. We all know that we can't have functions, classes or any other kind of data that have the same name. Let's say that we have two libraries that both add a function, let's say print(). They both give a different function, but in naming they are indistinguishable. That's where namespaces come in. A namespace is like adding a new group name to which you can add functions and other data, so that it will become distinguishable.
namespace bla
{
  void print()
  {
    // function bla::print()
  }
}

namespace blabla
{
  void print()
  {
    // function blabla::print()
  }
}

Now, as you can see, there are two functions with the name print, yet there is no naming conflict, because of namespaces. The first function would be called by using: bla::print() and the second with blabla::print().