General 3D Engine Checklist for a C++ Newbie

Hello! I'm very new at c++, and don't know anything past making random numbers yet. I am in highschool, where I currently am taking C++, and I am also making games with a friend of mine(he is the artist/programmer, and already knows c++ while I design the game.). We've made a few games together already, but I really feel bad for having him program everything, while I get to design. Now, I may be feeling this because I feel that designing games is extraordinarily fun, but I would like to help him with the coding, since I have no artistic ability whatsoever.

I am thinking about surprising him by making a 3D engine(because all of our games have been 2D so far), but like I specified earlier, I am very new to C++. I would like for someone to give me a checklist of what I need to know, what goes into a 3D engine, etc and work at it for a few years, and surprise him with something we can probably work on together and make some games with. Please help me out! Thanks!
work at it for a few years
Perspective is a good thing to have. Once in a while we get the stereotypical "hi I've been programming in C++ for two days how do i make wow?"

This should keep you busy for a few years:
* Learn how to program.
* Learn how to program in C++.
* Get good at the two above. You'll know you're getting better because even your large programs don't crash as often.
* Trigonometry.
* Linear algebra (essential in 3D graphics).
If after all this you still can't make a game engine by yourself, come back for more advice.

I doubt you'll be able to surprise your friend, though. For one, it's hard to surprise someone when you've been working towards something for several years. Second, your first engine won't really be usable other than as "hey, check out what I made".
closed account (zb0S216C)
3-dimensional engine construction takes a lot of work (I'm making one myself :-)). However, the level of complexity is based on 2 factors: