Until keypressed

Hi all,
Im new in C++ and I wand to create simple ...... snake (game)

I want to continue moving my snake until some key will be pressed. Than change the way how my snake will move. To make it easy, my snake will be "*".

In pascal code will looks like:
repeat
x:=x+wayx;
y:=y+wayy;
GoToXY(x,y);
write("*");
clrscr;
until keypressed;
read(way);

If you know what I mean, please help me.
To make it easy, my snake will be "*".

That doesn't really make it easy. If you want to make it easy, get a game lib.

See this;

http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/28558/
Could you just tell me how to display some text until key pressed and than if key is pressed display this pressed key?
There is no standard way in C++ to find out if a key was pressed, but there are numerous libraries that provide such functionality.

Btw, that Pseudocode looks suspiciously Pascal-ish. Actually... it IS Pascal.
hanst: he said it was pascal in his post. =P

brotchier: IMO, you shouldn't waste your time trying to do this stuff in the console. Seriously, install SFML. Learn how to do it the right way.

The console is junkier and is actually more difficult and restrictive to work with.
Last edited on
We are trying to lern Pascal and C++ in school and I just wanted to know how to do it....
But if there is no simple way, how you can help me I'll ask on another forum, but than you all for your replay :)
There are ways to do it, but they all involve platform specific functions (like Windows' WinAPI console functions) or additional libraries (ncurses), or nonstandard headers many people might not have (conio). The standard C++ lib doesn't give you a way to do it.

And again -- the main reason I'm not directly answering the question is because the question is flawed. What you are trying to do is something that probably shouldn't be done. You'll pretty much be wasting your time learning how to this in the console.

A snake game is a great beginner project.