Please help “Master Mind” Project

I am new to c++ and had a professor switch. The new professor assigned this project and we cannot figure it out.

For this project, you will write a C++ program that imitates a popular peg-game called Master Mind. The computer will secretly and randomly select four “pegs” from a pile of six different colors that we abbreviate as follow:
B blue G green O Orange
P purple R red Y yellow
Colors can be repeated so that BYRO, BBGG, and YPPP are valid choices of four peg colors.
The goal of the player is to guess the colors and positions of the four pegs selected by the computer in as few moves as possible and not more than 15 moves. The computer will ask the player (the person running the program) to type four colors (peg colors) that are a guess as to which pegs have been selected by the computer. The computer will then give clues as to which pegs are correct according to the following rules:
1. If an input peg has a correct color but it is in the wrong place, then then the computer will print out an asterisk “*” for each such peg.
2. If an input peg has the correct color and it is in the right place, then the computer will print out a dollar sign “$” for each such peg.
3. No clue is given if a peg of the wrong color is chosen.
To prevent the clues from being too obvious, you should first print out all the possible asterisks and then all the possible dollar signs. In this way, there will not be any one-to-one correspondence of clues with pegs.
The output will consist of successive single lines with each line containing the following information:
1. An integer with width two spaces will be printed out first, indicating how many times someone has tried to guess the correct pegs.
2. A string of four characters echoing what was recently typed by the player.
3. A string of clues consisting of up to four asterisks and/or dollar signs.