Simple password checker

Ok, so i started learning c++ this morning and decided to create a program that checks a password that is already set. I compiled the program with no errors, but for some reason it accepts any text typed in. I need it to only work if the correct password is typed in so i was wondering if you geniuses could help(: I know its very basic, and not complete, but heres the code:
#include "stdafx.h"

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    using namespace std;
    int x = 987789;
	cout << "Please Enter The Password ";
	int y;
	cin >> y;

if (y = 987789)

{
		cout << "Correct! ";
	}

return 0;
}

Thank you!!!
The = sign is not the same as the == operator =]

(you're assigning 987789 to y in your if parens)
Haha oh wow thank you!(: I knew it was probably something basic!
You can also use x in your expression on line 13 since you already set the number 987789 to equal it. No need to hard-code the number in anywhere because if you decide to change it you have to change it everywhere. If you use the variable x in all of your expressions you only have to change it once. ; )

What is the purpose of this statement:

int x = 987789; 

This shouldn't be necessary, unless your if statement is modified like this
if (y == x) {   //since x = 987789, then y == x is the same as y == 987789
     cout << "Correct!" 
} 

hmm Well I Have a few questions.

Why did you include the header #include "stdafx.h"?
if my memory serves me right stdafx.h is commonly used for win32 programing, but your justing programing with c++ so it is not need.

Why did you place using namespace std within the main function. By doing this everything that is written within the main function can access and use using namespace std but if you were to place a function outside of main you would get an error. Why not make using namespace global ( outside of int main() like you did with the headers that you included)

Global= anything can use it
local= only within the function it used in