could someone explain this code plz

Hello,

I'm working on a small script that uses the mysql c++ connector. I've got the demo code linked and calling the connector working just fine, but since I'm a beginner with c++ am a bit unclear about some aspects of dynamic memory.

The original code and topic discussion from which I'm taking a few snippets can be found here:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/connector-cpp-examples-complete-example-2.html

My question is, what is the advantage of using auto-pointers in this circumstance? Here's, the code, then I'll follow up my question with a few other points.

The portion of the original code declares the driver instance and tries to execute a few statements:

try {
  sql::Driver *driver;
  sql::Connection *con;
  sql::Statement *stmt;
  sql::ResultSet *res;
  sql::PreparedStatement *pstmt;

/* Create a connection */
  driver = get_driver_instance();
  con = driver->connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:3306", "root", "root");
  /* Connect to the MySQL test database */
  con->setSchema("test");

stmt = con->createStatement();
  stmt->execute("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS test");
  delete stmt;

/* '?' is the supported placeholder syntax */
  pstmt = con->prepareStatement("INSERT INTO test(id) VALUES (?)");
  for (int i = 1; i <= 10; i++) {
    pstmt->setInt(1, i);
    pstmt->executeUpdate();
  }
  delete pstmt;

/* Select in ascending order */
  pstmt = con->prepareStatement("SELECT id FROM test ORDER BY id ASC");
  res = pstmt->executeQuery();
  delete res;

delete pstmt;
  delete con;
} catch (sql::SQLException &e) {
/* run some cout catch statements */
}

The following suggestions were made for more optimized code:

std::auto_ptr< sql::Connection > apConn( driver->connect("tcp://127.0.0.1:3306", "root", "root" ) ) ;

std::auto_ptr< sql::Statement > apStmnt( apConn->createStatement( ) ) ;

std::auto_ptr< sql::ResultSet > apRes( apStmnt->executeQuery("SELECT 'Hello World!' AS _message") ) ;