Help with easy Project

Hello, I am pretty new to C++. I received a project today in which I am supposed to create a data file named ./current_inventory which will list about twenty cars, there mileage and price. The user will select from a menu asking if they are looking for a Chevrolet, Ford, Honda, Toyota or Porsche and then enter their maximum mileage and price. I then need to use two boolean functions, get_next_auto and compare_autos to read the next auto from the database and compare it to the desired auto respectively and finally print out how many autos match their desired car requirements. Get_next_auto needs to read values from the input file and into a structure. Compare_autos will compare the vaules in two structures. Will someone please point me in the right direction, I am pretty confused and would really appreciate the help. I know this sounds rudimentary, but I do not even know how I would create a database with each car's mileage, make and price and then get my program to read through them. PLEASE HELP ME! THANK YOU!
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/iostream/fstream/
Have you even tried to work on this yourself yet?
No because I don't even know where to start. That's why I'm on here.
Well, you're gonna want to start by looking at fstream. This stands for file stream, which you will need for your file I/O. A text file can act as a database pretty easily, and generally is what is used for small things like this. Things like SQL aren't needed unless you're working with large numbers of entries.
As you read through fstream, you will see there are many functions for file manipulation. I can't really help you much until you post some code that you've started on. Check out my link, give it some good reading, and then give it a shot. I don't care if the code is completely wrong, that gives us something to base some advice off of.

-Biscuit