Need Help!!!

I am a complete Newb I am 14 years of age and have ZERO experience in game programming, and yet I would like to start with C++. Can someone tell me The best and most recent book for C++ bearing in mind I won't understand most things with out a solid explination. Please Help.
there's no 'the best'...each one have your own favorite book
i like this
Starting Out with C++: From Control Structures Through Objects 6th Edition

but never use just one book, read more, read websites and the forum
(read and search before post something)

and think more positively
If you want a more simple, clear book I would go with "C++ Programming: From Problem Analysis To Program Design" by D.S. Malik

If you want a more in depth technical book I would go with "C++ How To Program 8th ed" by Deitel

But really, you should start out with a book on programming logic (that's what class they make you take in college before any programming classes) like "Starting Out with Programming Logic and Design" by Tony Gaddis

If you just want to make some simple games and don't care about the deeper technical stuff you could always grab one of the many "Learn C++ through game programming" books out there. I have a few of them and they get the basics across pretty well in most cases.

Though, if you want to make games I would recommend one of the first two books I listed, and then a book on a library API like "Focus on SDL" by Ernest Pazera
Last edited on
also use youtube (=
Youtube search "TheNewBoston" really good for beginners learning multiple programming languages and also "AntiRTFM" for a more insightful description of C++
Last edited on
First thing you should know is that age is irrelevant.