I want to do C++ as a first

I have been completely convinced to do C++ over Java as a first language because ive been looking over all the websites and its said that C++ builds the best programming foundation, easier to understand for beginners, and even better is that it makes learning new languages very easy. Its said that Java is a real pain for beginners and is too complicated

Please link me a C++ IDE/developing tool and the best C++ tutorial for those who start C++ as a first language.

Btw would it be possible to re-create the Minecraft source by using only C++?
I think you have it backwards.

(my opinion!!!)

Java is much more effective at portraying the object oriented approach to programming then c++

c++ syntax in itself is a bit more cryptic than Java.

There is no best tutorial. There are tons of youtube tutorials if you want to explore the language, for recommended reading for the total beginner I'd say C++ Primer Plus 6th Edition by Stephen Prata. (cplusplus.com also has its own set of tutorials)

& finally

Yes - but this kind of thing is a few years off (at best) from where you are right now.
Last edited on
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyVhn0FWWB4 c++ video tutorial series, I recommend it.

take a look at Code::Blocks, IMO the best free c++ IDE out there.

I don't know much about java, but I think it is pretty similar to c++, I'd say pick whichever language you'd like to code in, rather than which language is easier, I picked c++ because most pc games use it (i.e all those big title games) whereas java is more about cross-platform gaming in the browser, even though you can still run it out of the browser.

at least, that is my view on things.
Last edited on
@georgewashere Ill try the tutorials and ill try to find the tutorials on this website also.
"c++ syntax in itself is a bit more cryptic than Java." I don't really know what this means since I'm such a noob :c I might google what this means later