Really basic questions about libs and dlls

Okay, so I've never understood libs and dlls fully, even though I've been coding on and off for almost 7 years... pretty bad, eh?.
So, a .lib is just a file containing class and function definitions, and nothing else, right?
A .dll is to a .lib as a .exe is to a .cpp, its what is actually used at runtime, correct?
If I'm right about the above, how does the .exe know to look for a .dll, and what it will be named? Is that in the .lib file? How does it know where exactly to look into the .dll to find what it is looking for (entry point for a function)? Is that also in the .lib?
Lastly, I've never written a .dll, so... why would I ever want to write one? Is it just so that other programs or people can easily access my code without a million includes?
Last edited on
No, you got it all wrong.

A lib is a statically linked library. It contains compiled code that can be copied into the final executable.
A DLL is a dynamically linked library. Its code will not be copied into the executable. Instead, it will be loaded at run time. There are system calls that take a file name as parameter (e.g. "libbz2.dll") and can tell Windows to load a DLL into the code space of a running program. Windows will look for DLLs first in the working directory, and then in each of the directories specified in the PATH environment variable.

The point of DLLs and shared objects is that they save memory. The former, only in HDD, and the latter both in HDD and RAM. A DLL doesn't need to be copied into each executable that needs it, but because of that, it's considered a dependency (i.e. the program won't work without it). The same applies to shared objects, plus shared objects keep no more than one instance in memory at any given time, thus saving RAM.