C++ 2D Array Sorting

Salutations cplusplus users,
I'm having a bit of trouble with my sorting algorithm, I've looked on other sites and for simple sorting codes and I've read that bubble sort was the simplest (albeit very inefficient). Well I've tried using an algorithm from another site and adjusting it to my particular program but I keep getting an error "'num' cannot be used as a function".

I am still new to C++ so if there's something obvious I've missed feel free to rip at it, but I'm stumped. I'm creating an 8*8 RNG sorted in descending order that will show in a the highest and lowest number, and the number of times both occurred. Any tips are appreciated!

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>
using namespace std;

int i, j;
int matrix[8][8]; //Creates an 8*8 Matrix or a 2-dimensional array

void sort(int &num)
{
int flag = 1;
int temp, x, y;
int numLength;
for(x = 1; (x<8) && flag; x++)
{
flag = 0;
for (y=0; y<(8 -1); y++)
{
if (num(y+1) > num(y))
{
temp = num(y);
num(y) = num(y+1);
num(y+1) = temp;
flag = 1;
}
}
}
return; //arrays are passed to functions by address; nothing is returned
}

void fillmatrix ()
{
srand ((unsigned)time(0)); //Links the random number generator to the clock
for (i=0; i<8; i++){
cout<<endl;
for (j=0; j<8; j++){
matrix[i][j]=rand()%(99) + 1; //Produces a random number between 1-100
sort (matrix[i][j]);
cout << matrix[i][j]<<" ";
}}}

int main ()
{
cout<<"Here is your randomly generated 8*8 Matrix"<<endl;
fillmatrix ();
cout<<endl<<endl;
system ("pause");
return 0;
}
Last edited on
Rather than wasting your time in writing a new sorting function, try from algorithm.h the function std::sort. All you have to do is define the functor that defines the sorting rule you want to do. it's very simple, and way easier than rewriting an algorithm for sorting all over from the beginning.
I looked up what you meant destroyer, and while that does seem simpler I believe my professor is looking for a separate function