Learning to make a GUI

I recently started learning C++ but the book I have been teaching only teaches how to make console applications. Can anyone point me in the right direction to learn how to start making a simple GUI. For example a text box and display would be great to just start off. I typically use Visual C++ Express but I also have access to xCode on my OS X partition. I'm fairly new to this so it would be great if you could keep it simple. Thanks!
this is what i am looking for also....

i think people are going to direct you towards addons/libraries like SFML Allegro or SDL

its a pain in the ass to install if your a noob like me

i just heard of NuGet which is supposedly an easier way to install these libraries.

i have no idea how to use it.

i dont know any books on these other than their websites...

only thing i can really do is bump your post :-)
Those terms seem really scary... hopefully someone understands our whims :p
i can refer you to my favorite c++ tutorial channel on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/user/CodingMadeEasy

i learned alot of allegro from him

but i just recently read that people are starting to use sfml...so i have no idea where to start..

well you know what maybe you should start with allegro because of the channel i gave you.

it has a ton of support for you to learn from.

----
and i know it sounds scary but its not really

Allegro
SDL
SFML

these are just different ways to code things with. Its almost like learning half a new language in way. The syntax is just a little different.
Last edited on
Thanks! I don't know if this is a dumb question... but whats Allegro and sfml?
Depends what that GUi is for, WIn32, SFML, Qt are all good options
Depends what that GUi is for, WIn32, SFML, Qt are all good options

I'm really new to this stuff... could you tell me the pros and cons of each of those? Also which one is the simplest to install and use?