Increasing the size of a pointer array.

Hello, I'm a beginner in a second level class doing an assignment about a bank account. I have to write a virtual function that prints a statement as a list of transactions. I'm pretty sure that because the assignment is part of the chapter that talks about dynamic allocation, pointer arrays, and polymorphism, I have to store the list of transactions in a pointer array that can expand.

But I've searched many places and I'm not even sure anymore that a pointer array can expand.

Must I do a new "<identifier> = new <datatype>[arraySize + 1]" and copy the array over, or am I way off?
Last edited on
Are you needing an array of pointers, or a pointer to an array?
Last edited on
What do you mean with a pointer array? int *array, or int **array. Both can be expanded at run time, you just need to allocate more memory for them:
int *arr = new int[10];
delete[] arr; //Must use delete to avoid memory leak.
int *arr = new int[20];
//Same for **:
int **arr = new int*[10];
delete[] arr;
int **arr = new int*[20];

Of course here you are immediately deleting your old data. In a function to expand the array you would need a temporary pointer which points to either the new or the old array.
You can always just use the std::vector class if that's allowed, instead of basically building your own.
This is ugly and probably not what you want but...

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>

int main()
{
  char *text = 0;
  char *newtext = 0;
  text = new char[8];
  strcpy(text,"1234567");
  std::cout << "text = " << text << std::endl;
  newtext = new char[10];
  strcpy(newtext,text);
  strcat(newtext,"89");
  delete [] text;
  text = newtext;
  std::cout << "text = " << text << std::endl;
  delete [] newtext;
  return 0;
}