read file into multiple dimension array

closed account (zbREy60M)
Hello, and thank you for your help :)

I am writing a program that will do some math on some data I have in a file. The problem is that there is different types of data in the file. The data looks like this:

[code]Name GL GB DM
J0030+0451 113.14 -57.61 4.333
J0034
String can hold all of this. You can then go on to cast back to int if you need to do some calculations with them
How would I do that? If a string can hold all of this, how do I do it? Do I create an array of strings? I am sorry, I am very new to C++, and have a little bit more experience with Java, but not familar with the weird string objects of the C language.
Last edited on
closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Hi there,

It seems to me like you would need the fscanf function for this.

Check http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstdio/fscanf/ , an example usage is provided there.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
NwN
He could also use C++ methods for achieving this. Since his data is only separated by white-spaces, the >> operators would work, wouldn't they?
Do you know of any place where I can get some more detailed examples of how to use that? I read the page, but am still quite confused. I have googled this problem many times, and am still at a loss. I don't have a lot of knowledge with these class based languages.

edit:* or any languages actually :(
Last edited on
Hi there,

ResidentBiscuit is probably right there, but I'm not too familiar with that way (or any file handling in C++ for the moment).

Here's a tutorial on the subject:

http://bytes.com/topic/c/insights/652951-how-parse-file-c

Google for "c++ parsing text file to array" or similar shows you quite a few results.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
NwN
Alright, I've been trying to use getline to get a the columns into an array, i went ahead and separated the data into 3 files so it would be easier (i am newbie).

Here is what my data looks like now.

J0034–0721	
J0108–1431