OpenCV - Curvilinear mapping with Hough transforms

Trust me I know it doesn't sound like a beginner topic, but I assure you I am a beginner.

I am playing with a hough transform. I have been able to tweak the data so that
only the circle I am interested in is found, and stored in CvSeq*

Is there a way to open up this circle, turning it in to a straight line, and map the image to follow this transformation. A nudge in the right direction is all I'm looking for.
No, you're right. It really doesn't.. but that's probably just because the topic is something I've never heard of. It got me to read your topic though :)

How is the circle defined in memory?

You'll need a way to read the circle information from memory (your CVSeq*) and translate it into whatever shape you want using whatever method you choose to do such.

I'm guessing you want a rectangle of width = circumference and height = radius from the circle image data.

Why don't you give us a little more information if this isn't enough of a nudge, which I don't suppose it is.
Sorry. about that. I guess it got you to pay attention :)
I was actually just about to delete my post because I was getting a headache, just trying to understand what I wrote :)

I have a large ring shaped image. The ring is composed of many smaller particles. I am trying to find a way to figuratively break open the circle and straighten the image to a very long rectangle.

While the Image bounds obviously have to be square I would like to preserve the deformation which would occur in this process.
In other words the particles at the top of the rectangle should be smaller on the x axis than the bottom particles, roughly proportional to R with a factor of 2*PI.
R being the original radius.